I’m curious if there is any specific reason that WordPress uses Apache HttpClient versus HttpURLConnection. If there isn’t a strong reason, I’m curious what folks would think about switching, at least for connections to a blog’s XMLRPC endpoint.

I ask because I use SSL on my site with SNI. Today, I discovered that was actually the reason why I haven’t been able to use WordPress for Android all this time. Apparently, HttpClient doesn’t support SNI. HttpURLConnection does, and additionally seems to be the recommended HTTP client for any relatively new Android apps.

I’ve already started looking into what would be required, and it doesn’t look too bad at first glance. I’m happy to do the work (I’ve really been wanting to get into this codebase for a while, and this looks like a great start), but I wanted to check first and see if there were strong feelings about which HTTP client is used.